Compartmentalizing

I’m going camping tonight.  Just for one night.  But for one night I’ll be disconnected from the Internet, away from my cell phone and just hanging out with three of my closest friends.  I’ve always found that being able to change your surroundings, even if for a brief period, can be renewing and refreshing.  It’s also a great time to both reflect back on what you’ve been doing and look forward to what you want to be doing.

People often talk about the “work / life balance.”  I don’t describe it that way since for me, and for many of you, work is life, or at least work occupies a large portion of your life.  I describe it as being able to compartmentalize.  When changing roles from work to home, it’s important to have the ability to compartmentalize one role for another.  I’m referring to the ability to change roles from being a boss or employee or team player at work to being a good boyfriend or girlfriend, husband or wife, friend or neighbor, or whatever the scenario calls for.

All too often people carry their frustrations from one interaction to the next.  I’m all for confronting issues and dealing with problems, but when you leave a bad meeting and go to another meeting with a whole new agenda, you need to leave your problems at the door.  The same thing applies for when you have a bad day at work and you get home.

I guess another way to put is is… be happy with what you have and remember that tomorrow is a new day.

2 Comments

Filed under Leadership

2 responses to “Compartmentalizing

  1. anon

    Wow, no one has left a single comment on your fledgling blog so far. I normally don’t care much for, or about, blogs; however, you’ve recorded a few gems already.

    In particular, I was motivated to pick up my own copy of The U.S. Army Leadership Field Manual a few minutes ago. Despite the value of leadership and motivation skills, there are few formalized ways of learning about them, and wading through the bog of self-help and business school ‘NY Times Bestseller’ guides on the subject had led me to think that perhaps they can’t be taught indirectly at all. This looks to be just what I was seeking.

    I want to encourage you to keep posting, even though it may seem like a chore at times. You are already more successful than I may ever be in life, but there’s more to it. You never know what odd passerby may benefit from those “it’s 2am and I’m still awake and reflecting on my life” kind of revelations that tend to find their home on blogs like this one.

    In case you were wondering, I found your blog from your personal site, which I in turn found from your lone post on Ask MetaFilter. It’s a place full of wonderful people talking about interesting things in intelligent ways. I would highly recommend you come back to make a second, or third, post sometime. Until then, good luck.

  2. Hi David,

    This point is true and one I never found difficult or of issue, but I have conceptualized it before myself. Especially lately, anyway yes tomorrow is another hopeful new today and the next minute is as well, too… So no need to be not happy.

    Blah blah blah, Thanks for your blog ——- I am getting around to setting mine up and writing solid posts and not ramble on it really soon as well.

Leave a Reply

